Usain Bolt has always been a shining example of remarkable human engineering. He first wowed the world with his back-to-back, record-shattering victories of the 100m and 200m run at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, and went on to win a staggering eight gold medals before retiring in August 2017. Now, just four months later, Bolt hasn’t slowed down. In addition to his longstanding partnerships with Puma and the watchmaker Hublot, he’s been newly enlisted as the Chief Entertainment Officer of Maison Mumm, the storied French purveyor of Champagne established in 1827.

Could Usain Bolt Become a Soccer Star?

Read article

In his “CEO” role, Bolt doesn’t sit behind a desk. Instead, he parties. A lot. Since his appointment, he’s been spotted spraying magnums on race tracks and sailboats around the world, most recently landing in Tokyo, Japan where he hosted the launch of Mumm’s Grand Gordon Brut with a two-part blowout that ended somewhere in the vicinity of 5 AM at the newly opened 1Oak Tokyo. That’s where we caught up with the Olympian to see just how he swigs all of this bubbly while still maintaining his impressive physique.

Zachary Weiss

“Over the years, I’ve learned to balance it,” he said in an interview with Men’s Journal. “I think at the beginning I just partied as much as I wanted, but then I began to understand what was more important. I had to put work first, and talk to my coach about the best time for me to relax. We always coordinated together and said, ‘OK, this month you can have some free time.’ When you’re in shape or if you’ve covered a lot of work, then you earn your time to relax. You can’t lie to yourself.” A part of this honesty with himself is admitting that it’s harder to get motivated these days, especially when you’re not training for world records. “Being retired now, I do feel a little less motivated, but I just like to keep fit,” he said. “I do at least 45 minutes of cardio, and then I do weights and abs three times per week. The right thing to do is four times per week, but I’m comfortable if I get three.” In the kitchen, that means making sacrifices, including a diet of just two meals per day. “I can have any food I want right now, but I try to keep it limited,” he added. “I’m not as trained as I used to be. I eat two times a day instead of three, and have tried to cut back and just eat a lot of vegetables now. At least one of the meals is all vegetables. I feel better when I eat them.” Luckily, his late nights spent painting the town red mean he’s not much of a morning person, making breakfast an easy meal to pass up. “This job is about me teaching people how to celebrate the victories,” he said before popping open another bottle. “As you can see over the years, when I win, I know how to celebrate.”

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

Usain Bolt has always been a shining example of remarkable human engineering. He first wowed the world with his back-to-back, record-shattering victories of the 100m and 200m run at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, and went on to win a staggering eight gold medals before retiring in August 2017.

Now, just four months later, Bolt hasn’t slowed down. In addition to his longstanding partnerships with Puma and the watchmaker Hublot, he’s been newly enlisted as the Chief Entertainment Officer of Maison Mumm, the storied French purveyor of Champagne established in 1827.

Could Usain Bolt Become a Soccer Star?

Read article

In his “CEO” role, Bolt doesn’t sit behind a desk. Instead, he parties. A lot. Since his appointment, he’s been spotted spraying magnums on race tracks and sailboats around the world, most recently landing in Tokyo, Japan where he hosted the launch of Mumm’s Grand Gordon Brut with a two-part blowout that ended somewhere in the vicinity of 5 AM at the newly opened 1Oak Tokyo. That’s where we caught up with the Olympian to see just how he swigs all of this bubbly while still maintaining his impressive physique.

Could Usain Bolt Become a Soccer Star?

Read article

Could Usain Bolt Become a Soccer Star?

“Over the years, I’ve learned to balance it,” he said in an interview with Men’s Journal. “I think at the beginning I just partied as much as I wanted, but then I began to understand what was more important. I had to put work first, and talk to my coach about the best time for me to relax. We always coordinated together and said, ‘OK, this month you can have some free time.’ When you’re in shape or if you’ve covered a lot of work, then you earn your time to relax. You can’t lie to yourself.”

A part of this honesty with himself is admitting that it’s harder to get motivated these days, especially when you’re not training for world records. “Being retired now, I do feel a little less motivated, but I just like to keep fit,” he said. “I do at least 45 minutes of cardio, and then I do weights and abs three times per week. The right thing to do is four times per week, but I’m comfortable if I get three.”

In the kitchen, that means making sacrifices, including a diet of just two meals per day. “I can have any food I want right now, but I try to keep it limited,” he added. “I’m not as trained as I used to be. I eat two times a day instead of three, and have tried to cut back and just eat a lot of vegetables now. At least one of the meals is all vegetables. I feel better when I eat them.”

Luckily, his late nights spent painting the town red mean he’s not much of a morning person, making breakfast an easy meal to pass up. “This job is about me teaching people how to celebrate the victories,” he said before popping open another bottle. “As you can see over the years, when I win, I know how to celebrate.”

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City