Since becoming a professional skater in 1982, Tony Hawk has helped bring the sport to mainstream prominence, through his amazing tricks, his best-selling video game, and medal-winning performances at the X Games. Now, skateboarding is as popular as ever and will make its Olympic debut at the 2020 Tokyo Summer Games.

Tony Hawk’s Life Advice

Read article

Over the years, Hawk has helped push forward the evolution of tricks, including when he became the first skateboarder to land a 900-degree spin trick at the 1999 X-Games in San Francisco:

The skateboarding legend took some time to speak with Men’s Journal about his career, his favorite gear, his favorite drink, and more. Here’s Tony Hawk’s MJ5: On his the best advice he’s received: “The one good piece of advice that I’ve received is to stay the course and do what you love, even if it’s not the most financially rewarding, because you’ll love what you do for a living. That’s far more important than doing a job you hate just because it’s lucrative. I’ve done what I do for many years without any compensation and I’d gladly do it now without any compensation. I’m very lucky and I don’t take it for granted. Even if it’s not the most lucrative option, it’s going to be the most fun. If you’re in an industry, learn all the other aspects of it, because it’s going to give you an advantage in the end. Always be open to other options in your world.”

Tony Hawk on C.T.E. in Extreme Sports: “It’s Absolutely a Concern”

Read article

On his favorite piece of gear: “Without being painfully obvious, my favorite piece of gear is my skateboard. It’s gotten me this far in life, it’s allowed me to do so many things beyond just skating itself. It still gives me the most enjoyment in terms of physical activity. I am rarely without it. Some people think I carry it around to get recognized, but that is not the case, I assure you. I carry it, especially on planes, because if I check it in and it doesn’t arrive when I get there, it’s a problem.” On his favorite travel spot: “My favorite place I’ve ever traveled to not for skating is Iceland. It’s amazing. The landscape changes every five or 10 miles. It feels like one time you’re on the moon, in the desert, then lush forests. It’s really amazing there.” On his favorite drink: “It’s hard to pinpoint my favorite drink, but if I’m actually going to have an adult drink, it would be an Old Fashioned. Not too bitter, savory, with really good whiskey. That’s my go-to. But if it’s in the middle of the day, nothing beats a bottle of Coke. I know the time of day if I’m drinking coffee, water, Coke, or whiskey.”

Sport Climbing and Surfing Make the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics Shortlist

Read article

On his favorite meal to cook: “I don’t really cook meals at home, but the one thing I do make when I’m in a rush, I will make an open-faced turkey or tuna salad sandwich with provolone cheese, avocado, and mustard if it’s turkey. I try to avoid bread these days.” Check out the MJ5 archives for interviews with Chris Evans, Joel Kinnaman, surfer Kai Lenny and more.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

Since becoming a professional skater in 1982, Tony Hawk has helped bring the sport to mainstream prominence, through his amazing tricks, his best-selling video game, and medal-winning performances at the X Games. Now, skateboarding is as popular as ever and will make its Olympic debut at the 2020 Tokyo Summer Games.

Tony Hawk’s Life Advice

Read article

Over the years, Hawk has helped push forward the evolution of tricks, including when he became the first skateboarder to land a 900-degree spin trick at the 1999 X-Games in San Francisco:

Tony Hawk’s Life Advice

Read article

Tony Hawk’s Life Advice

The skateboarding legend took some time to speak with Men’s Journal about his career, his favorite gear, his favorite drink, and more. Here’s Tony Hawk’s MJ5:

On his the best advice he’s received: “The one good piece of advice that I’ve received is to stay the course and do what you love, even if it’s not the most financially rewarding, because you’ll love what you do for a living. That’s far more important than doing a job you hate just because it’s lucrative. I’ve done what I do for many years without any compensation and I’d gladly do it now without any compensation. I’m very lucky and I don’t take it for granted. Even if it’s not the most lucrative option, it’s going to be the most fun. If you’re in an industry, learn all the other aspects of it, because it’s going to give you an advantage in the end. Always be open to other options in your world.”

Tony Hawk on C.T.E. in Extreme Sports: “It’s Absolutely a Concern”

Read article

On his favorite piece of gear: “Without being painfully obvious, my favorite piece of gear is my skateboard. It’s gotten me this far in life, it’s allowed me to do so many things beyond just skating itself. It still gives me the most enjoyment in terms of physical activity. I am rarely without it. Some people think I carry it around to get recognized, but that is not the case, I assure you. I carry it, especially on planes, because if I check it in and it doesn’t arrive when I get there, it’s a problem.”

Tony Hawk on C.T.E. in Extreme Sports: “It’s Absolutely a Concern”

Read article

Tony Hawk on C.T.E. in Extreme Sports: “It’s Absolutely a Concern”

On his favorite travel spot: “My favorite place I’ve ever traveled to not for skating is Iceland. It’s amazing. The landscape changes every five or 10 miles. It feels like one time you’re on the moon, in the desert, then lush forests. It’s really amazing there.”

On his favorite drink: “It’s hard to pinpoint my favorite drink, but if I’m actually going to have an adult drink, it would be an Old Fashioned. Not too bitter, savory, with really good whiskey. That’s my go-to. But if it’s in the middle of the day, nothing beats a bottle of Coke. I know the time of day if I’m drinking coffee, water, Coke, or whiskey.”

Sport Climbing and Surfing Make the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics Shortlist

Read article

On his favorite meal to cook: “I don’t really cook meals at home, but the one thing I do make when I’m in a rush, I will make an open-faced turkey or tuna salad sandwich with provolone cheese, avocado, and mustard if it’s turkey. I try to avoid bread these days.”

Sport Climbing and Surfing Make the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics Shortlist

Read article

Sport Climbing and Surfing Make the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics Shortlist

Check out the MJ5 archives for interviews with Chris Evans, Joel Kinnaman, surfer Kai Lenny and more.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City