It was past midnight, as I lugged a 45-pound sandbag up a mountain, when I realized that I was in over my head. I’ve run some gnarly races in my day. But in a moment of delusion, I’d signed up for the Spartan Death Race, a 60-hour obstacle run, the rules of which are made on the fly. Fun, right? Now, as 70 other runners and I scrambled upward, I grasped just how unprepared I was for this Super Bowl of masochism, this buffet of pain. What the hell was I trying to prove?   In order to view the video, please allow Manage Cookies

  Still, I grew up believing, stubbornly, that quitting is contagious and to be avoided at all cost. So before the race began, I’d decided that they’d have to roll me away on a gurney before I’d give up. And that was almost the case.

Are You Fit Enough to Win A Spartan Race? Test Yourself

Read article

At dawn, we reached the 3,000-foot peak in Vermont’s Green Mountains—then had to crawl down the other side. At the bottom, we hauled rock-filled buckets and repeatedly threw in and fetched sandbags from a pond. That night, running on no sleep, we cleared brush for at least three hours. I ran out of water just in time for the next challenge: 3,000 burpees. By rep 300, I was running on fumes. By 400, I started passing out. At 500, I had mini-convulsions. That’s when a medic intervened. I was dehydrated and borderline hypothermic. After 27 hours, my race was over. On one hand, I could hold my head high, at least metaphorically, that I didn’t quit. On the other, I should have bowed out before my body made me. I pushed as hard as I could and got lucky I didn’t seriously hurt myself. When I run the DR again in 10 months (yes, I’m going again), I won’t let a rookie mistake, like not bringing enough water, trip me up—so I can at least reach burpee 501. This essay is part of our Art of the Fail series.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

It was past midnight, as I lugged a 45-pound sandbag up a mountain, when I realized that I was in over my head. I’ve run some gnarly races in my day. But in a moment of delusion, I’d signed up for the Spartan Death Race, a 60-hour obstacle run, the rules of which are made on the fly. Fun, right? Now, as 70 other runners and I scrambled upward, I grasped just how unprepared I was for this Super Bowl of masochism, this buffet of pain. What the hell was I trying to prove?

 

In order to view the video, please allow Manage Cookies

Still, I grew up believing, stubbornly, that quitting is contagious and to be avoided at all cost. So before the race began, I’d decided that they’d have to roll me away on a gurney before I’d give up. And that was almost the case.

Are You Fit Enough to Win A Spartan Race? Test Yourself

Read article

At dawn, we reached the 3,000-foot peak in Vermont’s Green Mountains—then had to crawl down the other side. At the bottom, we hauled rock-filled buckets and repeatedly threw in and fetched sandbags from a pond. That night, running on no sleep, we cleared brush for at least three hours. I ran out of water just in time for the next challenge: 3,000 burpees. By rep 300, I was running on fumes. By 400, I started passing out. At 500, I had mini-convulsions. That’s when a medic intervened. I was dehydrated and borderline hypothermic. After 27 hours, my race was over.

Are You Fit Enough to Win A Spartan Race? Test Yourself

Read article

Are You Fit Enough to Win A Spartan Race? Test Yourself

On one hand, I could hold my head high, at least metaphorically, that I didn’t quit. On the other, I should have bowed out before my body made me. I pushed as hard as I could and got lucky I didn’t seriously hurt myself. When I run the DR again in 10 months (yes, I’m going again), I won’t let a rookie mistake, like not bringing enough water, trip me up—so I can at least reach burpee 501.

This essay is part of our Art of the Fail series.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City