NHL star P.K. Subban had a summer to remember. Things kicked off with the three-time All-Star getting traded to the New Jersey Devils, making the team an instant contender; he hung out with music superstar Drake and the Toronto Raptors’ NBA championship trophy; he proposed to his girlfriend, Olympic skier Lindsey Vonn; took a trip to Europe; and he capped it all off by appearing at the Video Music Awards, presenting Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello’s performance alongside his new fiancé.

The 4 Fitness Secrets of Pro Hockey Players

Read article

Not a bad way to start off the next chapter of your career, right? But despite having a lot to off of the ice—including working on creating content for the production company he recently started called PeeK Productions—Subban hasn’t allowed it to take his focus off his training for the 2019-20 NHL season. In fact, Subban thinks it could be one of his best yet. “Every morning I’m up at 5 a.m. to get started on my pre-workout before my first real workout, which is usually about 40 minutes,” Subban tells Men’s Journal. “I’m expecting us to be a hard working team this season, and my main focus, as always, is bringing back a Stanley Cup here.”

Credit: New Jersey Devils

NHL Training: The Hockey Workout

Read article

Subban spoke with Men’s Journal ahead of the NHL season to speak about his training, traveling with Vonn, and why he likes to run on ice. Men’s Journal: What is your usual workout routine like? P.K. Subban: It starts early in the morning. It’s really important to get my body fully activated right away. 6 a.m. I get to the gym, then I eat breakfast, then I start my second workout. Next comes lunch, which is followed by my third workout. I end my routine with treatment and any business meetings I might have that day.

A Hockey Star’s Workout for Explosive Lower-Body Strength

Read article

Take us through a typical P.K. Subban training day. What are you focusing on? Both in the gym and on the ice, I’ve been working on my leg muscles and increasing my speed. The game has gotten noticeably faster in recent years and you need to account for that when you’re training.

Credit: New Jersey Devils If you could use only one type of workout and exercise to train for hockey, what would it be and why? Running drills on the ice is really the best way I’ve been able to improve my game. My ability to do the drills depends on the effort I put in while in the gym, but after working with my trainer Kam Brothers for 25 years his help in recognizing adjustments and movements that will allow me to play better have been so essential. What is your nutritional routine like? I’ve been limiting my carb intake lately and I’ve noticed how much quicker I’m able to see the results from the weight room. Not going to lie— it’s been tough during the off season and on vacation, but definitely worth it.

 

View this post on Instagram

  Whether it’s the world he lives in or the new city where he’ll be playin’, @subbanator crafts his own style in “The Pack”, featuring classic silhouettes that are iconic and bold. Available 7/1 at adidas.com. #adidasathletics #teamadidas — #Hockey #adidasHockey A post shared by adidas Hockey (@adidashockey) on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:47am PDT

What are some of the ways you recover from your workouts? Pilates has been helpful with my alignment and flexibility, which are both important when it comes to injury prevention. Kam, my trainer, is also committed to finding the most strategic and safest way for me to improve. I started doing Pilates this off season and it’s one of the best and smartest decisions I’ve ever made for my training. I think it’s a big reason why my body has felt better than usual this whole off season. What are some of your favorite workouts to do? I like to do full body movements that really engage my core. On leg day it’s all about squats, snatches and deadlifts. What’s something unique about the way you train? I think a majority of other professional athletes tend to start training around 7 or 8 a.m., but I’m typically up by 5 a.m. and in the gym starting my first workout.

 

View this post on Instagram

  Awesome day in Portland! Thank you to the big boss Zion and the whole @adidas family for making my visit special! I hope everyone enjoyed my visit as much as I did! …ps this poster officially put me In the Mix☝🏿😅 what up Dohhhh🤙🏿!!!! … don’t sleep on those originals either..👀🔥🔥🔥#crazysneakskidddd A post shared by P.K. Subban (@subbanator) on Aug 14, 2019 at 6:49am PDT

Need for Speed: How NHL Star Michael Grabner Became the Fastest Man on Ice

Read article

You recently started your own production company. What are you most excited to do with it? I’m excited to tell stories that are not just mine. The most important thing to me and my team is making meaningful content with levity. My personality is fun-loving, I laugh and joke around all the time, but I like to be taken seriously too. I was always inspired by Fresh Prince of Bel Air. It was hilarious, but at the end of the day there was a message in every episode. I want to create something that people can enjoy while also taking something sincere from it. What is your most memorable adventure or trip you have been on? This past summer was really special because I had never gone on vacation with the person I love. Lindsey and I went to Germany and Italy and we had the best time.

Andrew H. Walker/Shutterstock

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

NHL star P.K. Subban had a summer to remember. Things kicked off with the three-time All-Star getting traded to the New Jersey Devils, making the team an instant contender; he hung out with music superstar Drake and the Toronto Raptors’ NBA championship trophy; he proposed to his girlfriend, Olympic skier Lindsey Vonn; took a trip to Europe; and he capped it all off by appearing at the Video Music Awards, presenting Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello’s performance alongside his new fiancé.

The 4 Fitness Secrets of Pro Hockey Players

Read article

Not a bad way to start off the next chapter of your career, right?

The 4 Fitness Secrets of Pro Hockey Players

Read article

The 4 Fitness Secrets of Pro Hockey Players

But despite having a lot to off of the ice—including working on creating content for the production company he recently started called PeeK Productions—Subban hasn’t allowed it to take his focus off his training for the 2019-20 NHL season. In fact, Subban thinks it could be one of his best yet.

“Every morning I’m up at 5 a.m. to get started on my pre-workout before my first real workout, which is usually about 40 minutes,” Subban tells Men’s Journal. “I’m expecting us to be a hard working team this season, and my main focus, as always, is bringing back a Stanley Cup here.”

NHL Training: The Hockey Workout

Read article

Subban spoke with Men’s Journal ahead of the NHL season to speak about his training, traveling with Vonn, and why he likes to run on ice.

NHL Training: The Hockey Workout

Read article

NHL Training: The Hockey Workout

Men’s Journal: What is your usual workout routine like?

P.K. Subban: It starts early in the morning. It’s really important to get my body fully activated right away. 6 a.m. I get to the gym, then I eat breakfast, then I start my second workout. Next comes lunch, which is followed by my third workout. I end my routine with treatment and any business meetings I might have that day.

A Hockey Star’s Workout for Explosive Lower-Body Strength

Read article

Take us through a typical P.K. Subban training day. What are you focusing on?

A Hockey Star’s Workout for Explosive Lower-Body Strength

Read article

A Hockey Star’s Workout for Explosive Lower-Body Strength

Both in the gym and on the ice, I’ve been working on my leg muscles and increasing my speed. The game has gotten noticeably faster in recent years and you need to account for that when you’re training.

If you could use only one type of workout and exercise to train for hockey, what would it be and why?

Running drills on the ice is really the best way I’ve been able to improve my game. My ability to do the drills depends on the effort I put in while in the gym, but after working with my trainer Kam Brothers for 25 years his help in recognizing adjustments and movements that will allow me to play better have been so essential.

What is your nutritional routine like?

I’ve been limiting my carb intake lately and I’ve noticed how much quicker I’m able to see the results from the weight room. Not going to lie— it’s been tough during the off season and on vacation, but definitely worth it.

 

View this post on Instagram

  Whether it’s the world he lives in or the new city where he’ll be playin’, @subbanator crafts his own style in “The Pack”, featuring classic silhouettes that are iconic and bold. Available 7/1 at adidas.com. #adidasathletics #teamadidas — #Hockey #adidasHockey A post shared by adidas Hockey (@adidashockey) on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:47am PDT

 

View this post on Instagram

View this post on Instagram

Whether it’s the world he lives in or the new city where he’ll be playin’, @subbanator crafts his own style in “The Pack”, featuring classic silhouettes that are iconic and bold. Available 7/1 at adidas.com. #adidasathletics #teamadidas — #Hockey #adidasHockey

A post shared by adidas Hockey (@adidashockey) on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:47am PDT

What are some of the ways you recover from your workouts?

Pilates has been helpful with my alignment and flexibility, which are both important when it comes to injury prevention. Kam, my trainer, is also committed to finding the most strategic and safest way for me to improve. I started doing Pilates this off season and it’s one of the best and smartest decisions I’ve ever made for my training. I think it’s a big reason why my body has felt better than usual this whole off season.

What are some of your favorite workouts to do?

I like to do full body movements that really engage my core. On leg day it’s all about squats, snatches and deadlifts.

What’s something unique about the way you train?

I think a majority of other professional athletes tend to start training around 7 or 8 a.m., but I’m typically up by 5 a.m. and in the gym starting my first workout.

 

View this post on Instagram

  Awesome day in Portland! Thank you to the big boss Zion and the whole @adidas family for making my visit special! I hope everyone enjoyed my visit as much as I did! …ps this poster officially put me In the Mix☝🏿😅 what up Dohhhh🤙🏿!!!! … don’t sleep on those originals either..👀🔥🔥🔥#crazysneakskidddd A post shared by P.K. Subban (@subbanator) on Aug 14, 2019 at 6:49am PDT

Awesome day in Portland! Thank you to the big boss Zion and the whole @adidas family for making my visit special! I hope everyone enjoyed my visit as much as I did! …ps this poster officially put me In the Mix☝🏿😅 what up Dohhhh🤙🏿!!!! … don’t sleep on those originals either..👀🔥🔥🔥#crazysneakskidddd

A post shared by P.K. Subban (@subbanator) on Aug 14, 2019 at 6:49am PDT

Need for Speed: How NHL Star Michael Grabner Became the Fastest Man on Ice

Read article

You recently started your own production company. What are you most excited to do with it?

Need for Speed: How NHL Star Michael Grabner Became the Fastest Man on Ice

Read article

Need for Speed: How NHL Star Michael Grabner Became the Fastest Man on Ice

I’m excited to tell stories that are not just mine. The most important thing to me and my team is making meaningful content with levity. My personality is fun-loving, I laugh and joke around all the time, but I like to be taken seriously too. I was always inspired by Fresh Prince of Bel Air. It was hilarious, but at the end of the day there was a message in every episode. I want to create something that people can enjoy while also taking something sincere from it.

What is your most memorable adventure or trip you have been on?

This past summer was really special because I had never gone on vacation with the person I love. Lindsey and I went to Germany and Italy and we had the best time.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Celebrating the Underrated Genius of Riviera Country Club					



					Tiger Woods Will Make His First Start of the Year at the Genesis Invitational					



					Racing Legend Travis Pastrana to Make 2023 Daytona 500 Attempt					



					Training Secrets That Keep Jon Rahm a Powerhouse on the PGA Tour					



					The Best Prop Bets for Super Bowl LVII					



					Everything You Need to Know About the Rolex Series					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City