Last spring, my wife had a preventive double mastectomy, and the anxiety wrecked me. My dad had once flatlined during an operation, so every night before my wife’s surgery, I lay in bed rehearsing what I’d tell Campbell, our 3-year-old, when her mother died. I was being irrational, but tragedy felt inevitable.   In order to view the video, please allow Manage Cookies

  The procedure went fine. For weeks afterward, as my bedridden wife recovered, I played nurse—managing medications, changing bandages, draining fluids—while also caring for Campbell. I was still anxious, fearing that at any moment my wife might take a turn and never recover. Campbell, meanwhile, cried and clung to me. She was struggling, but I was overwhelmed, too. So whenever she freaked out, I’d just put her in time-out until she calmed down.

Why You Probably Don’t Need Knee Surgery

Read article

Then one night, two weeks after the operation, Campbell stood over me in bed and vomited bile everywhere. By the time we got her to the doctor, she could barely stand. Nurses ran tests, and doctors got an IV in her arm. She was malnourished, they said. She’d stopped eating—and I hadn’t noticed. As Campbell slept in an examination bed, I melted into tears. She’d been hurting, and I’d ignored her, too consumed by my own concerns. Fortunately, she recovered in a few hours, but I still feel guilty. Every parent fails their kid at some point, and I’ll let down Campbell again, I’m sure. But it won’t be because I cared more about my fears than hers, or lacked focus. The other day, my wife and I took Campbell to McDonald’s. As she played, she occasionally stopped for a chicken nugget. I didn’t miss a bite. This essay is part of our Art of the Fail series.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

Last spring, my wife had a preventive double mastectomy, and the anxiety wrecked me. My dad had once flatlined during an operation, so every night before my wife’s surgery, I lay in bed rehearsing what I’d tell Campbell, our 3-year-old, when her mother died. I was being irrational, but tragedy felt inevitable.

 

In order to view the video, please allow Manage Cookies

The procedure went fine. For weeks afterward, as my bedridden wife recovered, I played nurse—managing medications, changing bandages, draining fluids—while also caring for Campbell. I was still anxious, fearing that at any moment my wife might take a turn and never recover.

Campbell, meanwhile, cried and clung to me. She was struggling, but I was overwhelmed, too. So whenever she freaked out, I’d just put her in time-out until she calmed down.

Why You Probably Don’t Need Knee Surgery

Read article

Then one night, two weeks after the operation, Campbell stood over me in bed and vomited bile everywhere. By the time we got her to the doctor, she could barely stand. Nurses ran tests, and doctors got an IV in her arm. She was malnourished, they said. She’d stopped eating—and I hadn’t noticed.

Why You Probably Don’t Need Knee Surgery

Read article

Why You Probably Don’t Need Knee Surgery

As Campbell slept in an examination bed, I melted into tears. She’d been hurting, and I’d ignored her, too consumed by my own concerns. Fortunately, she recovered in a few hours, but I still feel guilty. Every parent fails their kid at some point, and I’ll let down Campbell again, I’m sure. But it won’t be because I cared more about my fears than hers, or lacked focus.

The other day, my wife and I took Campbell to McDonald’s. As she played, she occasionally stopped for a chicken nugget. I didn’t miss a bite.

This essay is part of our Art of the Fail series.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City