You may know Tim McGraw as a country music icon (or from his role in the Academy Award-nominated movie The Blind Side.) Now, he’s adding another item to his already impressive resume: fitness influencer. For a guy in his 50s, McGraw is in remarkably good shape­­—so it was only a matter of time before he shared his secret with the world. He’ll do this by partnering with Snap Fitness, which is known for its nationwide 24-hour facilities, to design a line of fitness clubs: TRU MAV Signature Clubs. Men’s Fitness spoke with McGraw about his new project, his fitness lifestyle, and what’s on his workout playlist. Tell us about your new partnership with Snap Fitness. What are you working on? I’ve always been involved in fitness. I’ve always tried to take care of myself. For a while, I went a little slack—you get busy in your life, and have kids, and you’re running and gunning all the time. You sort of put it on the back burner. About seven or eight years ago I really got back into it, and tried to get my health back together like I wanted it. When I really got serious about fitness, I thought it would be a cool world to be in. The biggest impact I could have was with people who already knew what they were doing. Snap shared the same passions that I had, and the space that they had and the way that they handled their space was something that was really appealing to me. Why is staying fit important to you? In my early 40s, when I really started taking it seriously, I started running a lot. That’s the first thing I started doing, and I found that made a big difference for me. It just started my day out better. I just realized how much it raised the bar on everything that I did. It raised the bar on my career. It raised the bar on my relationships with my friends. It just made me feel better, gave me a better mental outlook on everything that I was doing. Would you say it gave you an openness to new experiences? Absolutely. It gives you a confidence in yourself as well. It became a discipline for me, and it allowed me to become more disciplined in all the other things that I did, including learning to fly an airplane and spearfishing with my friends in the Bahamas. Just different things that being fit and being mentally alert led me to do. How are you involved in the collaboration with Snap? We’ll go through and figure out the right equipment that feels right for the kinds of workouts that we want to do. I’m designing the Signature Club—it’s like a Snap Club, with different touches to it that I’ll be involved in. Roger Yuan, who’s been my trainer for probably five or six years now, will also be working with me to design some concepts and some different workouts that really can be beneficial to people in a functional way. What’s your workout schedule like on tour? We start in the morning, and I always start all of my workouts with a 30-minute walk on the treadmill just to get everything loosened up and flowing. Then we’ll do some stretching and stuff. Typically in the mornings it’s more of active yoga and bodyweights. Then we go in and run stairs in the arena. We do a big CrossFit training session in the afternoon that usually goes from an hour to an hour and a half. It depends on how everybody holds up. It starts with 10 or 15 people; it ends with four or five sometimes. That’s our afternoon workout. Then we go get showered up and have dinner, and get ready to do a show. You and your wife [country superstar Faith Hill] are on tour together. Does she do the workouts, too? She likes to do some of the yoga and the stretching. Roger, my trainer, is really good with martial arts and boxing, and she likes to do a lot of that stuff with him. You’re obviously a country music icon. Are you aspiring to be seen as a fitness icon as well? [Laughs] Gosh, as long as my kids will talk to me the older they get, I’ll be happy. None of these things would be available without country music, so that’s where my heart lies. All this other stuff I love doing and it’s fun, but when you put it in the context of what would you want to be an iconic figure in, well, country music’s my world. I don’t know that my body’s going to turn into Arnold or anything. [Laughs] Not many people could be Arnold. Final question: What kind of music is on your workout playlist? Oh my gosh. Boy, I love ’70s music, so I’ll always have ’70s rock ‘n’ roll pounding. Bruno Mars is always a good one. I’ll put on Unorthodox Jukebox when I go for a run. Anything that sort of just gets you happy, gets you moving, makes you feel good, is what works for me.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

You may know Tim McGraw as a country music icon (or from his role in the Academy Award-nominated movie The Blind Side.)

Now, he’s adding another item to his already impressive resume: fitness influencer.

For a guy in his 50s, McGraw is in remarkably good shape­­—so it was only a matter of time before he shared his secret with the world. He’ll do this by partnering with Snap Fitness, which is known for its nationwide 24-hour facilities, to design a line of fitness clubs: TRU MAV Signature Clubs.

Men’s Fitness spoke with McGraw about his new project, his fitness lifestyle, and what’s on his workout playlist.

Tell us about your new partnership with Snap Fitness. What are you working on?

I’ve always been involved in fitness. I’ve always tried to take care of myself. For a while, I went a little slack—you get busy in your life, and have kids, and you’re running and gunning all the time. You sort of put it on the back burner.

About seven or eight years ago I really got back into it, and tried to get my health back together like I wanted it. When I really got serious about fitness, I thought it would be a cool world to be in. The biggest impact I could have was with people who already knew what they were doing. Snap shared the same passions that I had, and the space that they had and the way that they handled their space was something that was really appealing to me.

Why is staying fit important to you?

In my early 40s, when I really started taking it seriously, I started running a lot. That’s the first thing I started doing, and I found that made a big difference for me. It just started my day out better. I just realized how much it raised the bar on everything that I did. It raised the bar on my career. It raised the bar on my relationships with my friends. It just made me feel better, gave me a better mental outlook on everything that I was doing.

Would you say it gave you an openness to new experiences?

Absolutely. It gives you a confidence in yourself as well. It became a discipline for me, and it allowed me to become more disciplined in all the other things that I did, including learning to fly an airplane and spearfishing with my friends in the Bahamas. Just different things that being fit and being mentally alert led me to do.

How are you involved in the collaboration with Snap?

We’ll go through and figure out the right equipment that feels right for the kinds of workouts that we want to do. I’m designing the Signature Club—it’s like a Snap Club, with different touches to it that I’ll be involved in. Roger Yuan, who’s been my trainer for probably five or six years now, will also be working with me to design some concepts and some different workouts that really can be beneficial to people in a functional way.

What’s your workout schedule like on tour?

We start in the morning, and I always start all of my workouts with a 30-minute walk on the treadmill just to get everything loosened up and flowing. Then we’ll do some stretching and stuff. Typically in the mornings it’s more of active yoga and bodyweights. Then we go in and run stairs in the arena.

We do a big CrossFit training session in the afternoon that usually goes from an hour to an hour and a half. It depends on how everybody holds up. It starts with 10 or 15 people; it ends with four or five sometimes. That’s our afternoon workout. Then we go get showered up and have dinner, and get ready to do a show.

You and your wife [country superstar Faith Hill] are on tour together. Does she do the workouts, too?

She likes to do some of the yoga and the stretching. Roger, my trainer, is really good with martial arts and boxing, and she likes to do a lot of that stuff with him.

You’re obviously a country music icon. Are you aspiring to be seen as a fitness icon as well?

[Laughs] Gosh, as long as my kids will talk to me the older they get, I’ll be happy.

None of these things would be available without country music, so that’s where my heart lies. All this other stuff I love doing and it’s fun, but when you put it in the context of what would you want to be an iconic figure in, well, country music’s my world.

I don’t know that my body’s going to turn into Arnold or anything. [Laughs]

Not many people could be Arnold. Final question: What kind of music is on your workout playlist?

Oh my gosh. Boy, I love ’70s music, so I’ll always have ’70s rock ‘n’ roll pounding. Bruno Mars is always a good one. I’ll put on Unorthodox Jukebox when I go for a run. Anything that sort of just gets you happy, gets you moving, makes you feel good, is what works for me.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City