Before jet-setting to his next gig, DJ Ruckus is working hard to come out with music singles and EPs – one of his many goals for this year. “You know how everyone has their New Year’s resolution? I promised myself I would stay excited that way throughout the year and make sure that I was ambitious and pushing myself through things – getting smarter, reading more, learning a second or third language (Spanish and then maybe try French),” DJ Ruckus tells Men’s Journal exclusively. “All around intelligence and being physically and mentally fit – that was sort of my goal for 2019.” While he shares he’s “thin naturally,” anyone who follows him on Instagram (@djruckusofficial) would know that he puts in just as much effort in the gym as he does in his music. In fact, it’s the first thing he does before hitting his sound checks when he’s on the road.

Jeff Rayner/Coleman-Rayner “I have a series of gyms in different places, or know the trainers where I travel to often. I know where those things are or I do that research before I leave or as soon as I arrive,” he shares. Gyms like Heart & Hustle in Los Angeles (where he trains with trainer Gary Gall), Gotham in New York and Anatomy in Miami are just a few places he likes to frequent when has a gig in those cities. What’s his go-to? “Boxing is probably my favorite out of all of it, and then working with a trainer. At this point, I’ve been through enough of it that I can probably train on my own. I do like to incorporate Yoga,” he tells us. “I love to travel with resistance bands and just throw a little workout in my hotel room.” Not only does he have his fitness regime in check, he also knows what it takes to maintain his weight and keep his size. “I don’t really eat meat…I eat a pretty pescatarian [diet]. I’ve been seeking out vegan places because if they’re vegan there’s no sort of discrepancy between what I’m eating…I like to seek out healthy restaurants. I crave healthy food naturally.” Some of his favorites that he’s “fallen in love with” include Pure Ktchn in NY, Pura Vida in Miami and any Impossible Burger joint he can find. DJ Ruckus shares that while exercising helps battle his late-night fatigue while working, he kicks off his mornings in a healthy way to get the energy he needs to last all day. In addition to traveling with PlantFusion plant-based protein powder, he’ll do intermittent fasting and have green juice. “I start off my morning at 8/9/10 am depending on how ambitious I am. I do water and lemon in the morning and maybe have a splash of apple cider vinegar in my day,” he tells us. “I’ll try to meditate for 10-15 minutes before the phone calls and the emails and text messages and Instagrams.”

Jeff Rayner/Coleman-Rayner No matter how busy he gets, there’s always going to be that one special lady he gives his attention to during the day no matter the distance, his wife Shanina Shaik. “We are both super ambitious people, and she works out the same way like I do and works the same way I do,” DJ Ruckus shares. Although he and his wife are going to wait to “see what the universe brings” in terms of starting a family, for now his focus is on more record releases and continuing his tour as a DJ (city stops can be found on his Facebook (@DJRuckusFanPage). He says, “For me it’s my favorite thing in the world to do so of course I’m excited to do it…Off to the races for the rest of the year.”

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

Before jet-setting to his next gig, DJ Ruckus is working hard to come out with music singles and EPs – one of his many goals for this year. “You know how everyone has their New Year’s resolution? I promised myself I would stay excited that way throughout the year and make sure that I was ambitious and pushing myself through things – getting smarter, reading more, learning a second or third language (Spanish and then maybe try French),” DJ Ruckus tells Men’s Journal exclusively. “All around intelligence and being physically and mentally fit – that was sort of my goal for 2019.”

While he shares he’s “thin naturally,” anyone who follows him on Instagram (@djruckusofficial) would know that he puts in just as much effort in the gym as he does in his music. In fact, it’s the first thing he does before hitting his sound checks when he’s on the road.

“I have a series of gyms in different places, or know the trainers where I travel to often. I know where those things are or I do that research before I leave or as soon as I arrive,” he shares. Gyms like Heart & Hustle in Los Angeles (where he trains with trainer Gary Gall), Gotham in New York and Anatomy in Miami are just a few places he likes to frequent when has a gig in those cities.

What’s his go-to? “Boxing is probably my favorite out of all of it, and then working with a trainer. At this point, I’ve been through enough of it that I can probably train on my own. I do like to incorporate Yoga,” he tells us. “I love to travel with resistance bands and just throw a little workout in my hotel room.”

Not only does he have his fitness regime in check, he also knows what it takes to maintain his weight and keep his size. “I don’t really eat meat…I eat a pretty pescatarian [diet]. I’ve been seeking out vegan places because if they’re vegan there’s no sort of discrepancy between what I’m eating…I like to seek out healthy restaurants. I crave healthy food naturally.” Some of his favorites that he’s “fallen in love with” include Pure Ktchn in NY, Pura Vida in Miami and any Impossible Burger joint he can find.

DJ Ruckus shares that while exercising helps battle his late-night fatigue while working, he kicks off his mornings in a healthy way to get the energy he needs to last all day. In addition to traveling with PlantFusion plant-based protein powder, he’ll do intermittent fasting and have green juice. “I start off my morning at 8/9/10 am depending on how ambitious I am. I do water and lemon in the morning and maybe have a splash of apple cider vinegar in my day,” he tells us. “I’ll try to meditate for 10-15 minutes before the phone calls and the emails and text messages and Instagrams.”

No matter how busy he gets, there’s always going to be that one special lady he gives his attention to during the day no matter the distance, his wife Shanina Shaik. “We are both super ambitious people, and she works out the same way like I do and works the same way I do,” DJ Ruckus shares.

Although he and his wife are going to wait to “see what the universe brings” in terms of starting a family, for now his focus is on more record releases and continuing his tour as a DJ (city stops can be found on his Facebook (@DJRuckusFanPage). He says, “For me it’s my favorite thing in the world to do so of course I’m excited to do it…Off to the races for the rest of the year.”

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					The Best Mindfulness Apps for 2023, According to Experts					



					Work on That Core With The Vinsguir Ab Roller in Your Home					



					Fuel Up For Your Workouts With Core Power Protein Shakes					



					Best Testosterone Booster: Top 5 Supplements For Men of 2023					



					Best Green Powders of 2023 to Boost Your Health					



					Fortify Your Body With The Optimum Nutrition Multivitamin					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City