Austrian climber Angela Eiten had a pretty good weekend. On Sunday, the 31-year-old became the first woman to send a 5.15b grade. She bested the La Planta de Shiva climb, which is located in Villanueva Del Rosario, Andalucia, Spain. Before her historic climb, the route had only been finished by men — and only a handful of them at that.

The 10 Best Rock Climbing Shoes

Read article

Eiten was obviously stoked and took to her Instagram, saying it was “One of the most memorable days of my life.” 

One of the most memorable days of my life. Planta de Shiva 9b ✅ … I still can’t believe it. A dream came true! ????? #verleihtflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram #9b ? Redbull Contentpool/ E.Holzknecht A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 22, 2017 at 12:08pm PDT

The site 8a.nu notes that Eiten had been training for this specific route. She had been sending similar climbs, including a 5.14b at La Planta de Shiva just two years ago, all leading up to Sunday’s historic moment. “One of my hardest so far, pure endurance climbing with few rests, continuously hard with minimum of rests,” she told the site.

Unbelievable! ?? Slowly I start to realize what I’ve triggered in the climbing community when I clipped the anchor of a route 24 hours ago. I didn’t expected so many congratulations ? ?. People you are awesome ??! Trying „Planta de Shiva“ was an amazing experience and I really enjoyed every session on the route since October 2015 although I struggled with many defeats during the process. I didn’t believe I can do it and actually decided just to focus on the second pitch of “Planta de Shiva” without the first one as it turned out to be hard enough for me. Many sessions were needed to figure out the moves. ? Anyway, I knew it was my style and I was inspired by the moves, which I guess was the key to my success. In support of a specific preparation at home I started to try combining the second pitch and I surprisingly made very good progress. This October I completed the second pitch. Then, I wanted to know if I can also add the first powerful 8c pitch. Two days later on Sunday 22 October I found the answer… ? @michal_climb #verleihflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 23, 2017 at 12:26pm PDT

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Famed Yosemite Climber Zach Milligan Dies After Ice Climbing Fall					



					Skiing in Japan Is Back Again—and the Powder Was Worth the Wait					



					10 Winter Hikes to Keep You Trailblazing All Year Round					



					The North Face Introduces Athlete Development Program					



					Ocean Rower Fiann Paul Completes Most Grueling Expedition					



					Snowmobile-accessed Ski Touring in Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

Austrian climber Angela Eiten had a pretty good weekend.

On Sunday, the 31-year-old became the first woman to send a 5.15b grade. She bested the La Planta de Shiva climb, which is located in Villanueva Del Rosario, Andalucia, Spain. Before her historic climb, the route had only been finished by men — and only a handful of them at that.

The 10 Best Rock Climbing Shoes

Read article

Eiten was obviously stoked and took to her Instagram, saying it was “One of the most memorable days of my life.” 

The 10 Best Rock Climbing Shoes

Read article

The 10 Best Rock Climbing Shoes

One of the most memorable days of my life. Planta de Shiva 9b ✅ … I still can’t believe it. A dream came true! ????? #verleihtflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram #9b ? Redbull Contentpool/ E.Holzknecht A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 22, 2017 at 12:08pm PDT

One of the most memorable days of my life. Planta de Shiva 9b ✅ … I still can’t believe it. A dream came true! ????? #verleihtflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram #9b ? Redbull Contentpool/ E.Holzknecht

A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 22, 2017 at 12:08pm PDT

The site 8a.nu notes that Eiten had been training for this specific route. She had been sending similar climbs, including a 5.14b at La Planta de Shiva just two years ago, all leading up to Sunday’s historic moment.

“One of my hardest so far, pure endurance climbing with few rests, continuously hard with minimum of rests,” she told the site.

Unbelievable! ?? Slowly I start to realize what I’ve triggered in the climbing community when I clipped the anchor of a route 24 hours ago. I didn’t expected so many congratulations ? ?. People you are awesome ??! Trying „Planta de Shiva“ was an amazing experience and I really enjoyed every session on the route since October 2015 although I struggled with many defeats during the process. I didn’t believe I can do it and actually decided just to focus on the second pitch of “Planta de Shiva” without the first one as it turned out to be hard enough for me. Many sessions were needed to figure out the moves. ? Anyway, I knew it was my style and I was inspired by the moves, which I guess was the key to my success. In support of a specific preparation at home I started to try combining the second pitch and I surprisingly made very good progress. This October I completed the second pitch. Then, I wanted to know if I can also add the first powerful 8c pitch. Two days later on Sunday 22 October I found the answer… ? @michal_climb #verleihflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 23, 2017 at 12:26pm PDT

Unbelievable! ?? Slowly I start to realize what I’ve triggered in the climbing community when I clipped the anchor of a route 24 hours ago. I didn’t expected so many congratulations ? ?. People you are awesome ??! Trying „Planta de Shiva“ was an amazing experience and I really enjoyed every session on the route since October 2015 although I struggled with many defeats during the process. I didn’t believe I can do it and actually decided just to focus on the second pitch of “Planta de Shiva” without the first one as it turned out to be hard enough for me. Many sessions were needed to figure out the moves. ? Anyway, I knew it was my style and I was inspired by the moves, which I guess was the key to my success. In support of a specific preparation at home I started to try combining the second pitch and I surprisingly made very good progress. This October I completed the second pitch. Then, I wanted to know if I can also add the first powerful 8c pitch. Two days later on Sunday 22 October I found the answer… ? @michal_climb #verleihflügel #jedentagtirol @team_edelrid @lasportivagram

A post shared by Angy Eiter (@angyeiter) on Oct 23, 2017 at 12:26pm PDT

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Famed Yosemite Climber Zach Milligan Dies After Ice Climbing Fall					



					Skiing in Japan Is Back Again—and the Powder Was Worth the Wait					



					10 Winter Hikes to Keep You Trailblazing All Year Round					



					The North Face Introduces Athlete Development Program					



					Ocean Rower Fiann Paul Completes Most Grueling Expedition					



					Snowmobile-accessed Ski Touring in Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Famed Yosemite Climber Zach Milligan Dies After Ice Climbing Fall					



					Skiing in Japan Is Back Again—and the Powder Was Worth the Wait					



					10 Winter Hikes to Keep You Trailblazing All Year Round					



					The North Face Introduces Athlete Development Program					



					Ocean Rower Fiann Paul Completes Most Grueling Expedition					



					Snowmobile-accessed Ski Touring in Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Famed Yosemite Climber Zach Milligan Dies After Ice Climbing Fall					



					Skiing in Japan Is Back Again—and the Powder Was Worth the Wait					



					10 Winter Hikes to Keep You Trailblazing All Year Round					



					The North Face Introduces Athlete Development Program					



					Ocean Rower Fiann Paul Completes Most Grueling Expedition					



					Snowmobile-accessed Ski Touring in Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City