I had transitioned into a reserve unit in New York City after serving as an active duty Marine. I was serving as a Marine during the day and pursuing comedy at night. On September 11, I got the call: “Report to Ground Zero.” They had already closed the bridges and tunnels. My reserve unit was activated to work on the bucket brigades from September 12 to September 18. We were working for 12 hours at a time, moving the rubble by hand looking for anyone who was still alive. For obvious reasons, I was a little pissed off. My country had been attacked. I had just spent a week pulling people out of piles of wreckage. I was a captain at the time, with a high level of security clearance. I knew that we were going to need people, so I volunteered to go back in.

The 19 Greatest War Movies of All-Time

Read article

In an insane coincidence I received my orders on November 10, which happens to be the birthday of the Marine Corps. They had activated me and told me to report to Central Command in Tampa. I was given some time to prepare and say goodbye to the wife. I reported on November 17. By the time it was November 30, I was over in Afghanistan.

#TBT Many years ago in a far off land…Now I’m running #MyChicagoMarathon on behalf of @TeamSalute and the veterans it serves. Semper Fi! #hopemycalfmuscleholdsup #ChicagoMarathon @chimarathon A post shared by Rob Riggle (@robriggle) on Oct 6, 2016 at 10:49am PDT

On arrival I reported to Lieutenant Colonel Max Bowers, commanding officer of the 3rd Battalion, 5th Special Forces groups, who were operating out of Mazar-i-Sharif in northern Afghanistan. They were aligning with the Northern Alliance to fight the Taliban. They were the first guys in, fighting in some extraordinary circumstances. That is the story I get to tell now in 12 Strong, and not only that, I get to play my old boss Lieutenant Colonel Bowers. I get to play the man that I worked directly under, as part of his command element over there.

The Survivors: the Men Who Brought the Heroes Home

Read article

By the time I retired I had reached the rank of lieutenant colonel. In a lot of ways, it is crazy that I got to not only serve with these men, but also portray the operation in this movie. It is an honor to get to share their story. — as told to Charles Thorp. 12 Strong, which also stars Men’s Journal cover guy Chris Hemsworth, is in theaters now.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Prepare for The Oscars With These Blu-Rays					



					How Matt Higgins Climbed and Conquered the Corporate Ladder					



					Best THC Detox Methods: 4 Best THC Detox Cleanse & Weed Detox Kits Of 2023					



					Your Pup Needs These Greenies Natural Dog Dental Treats					



					Model and Influencer Sixtine Rouyre Joins 2023 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition					



					Start Gaming With The PS5 God of War Ragnarök Bundle					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

I had transitioned into a reserve unit in New York City after serving as an active duty Marine. I was serving as a Marine during the day and pursuing comedy at night. On September 11, I got the call: “Report to Ground Zero.” They had already closed the bridges and tunnels. My reserve unit was activated to work on the bucket brigades from September 12 to September 18. We were working for 12 hours at a time, moving the rubble by hand looking for anyone who was still alive.

For obvious reasons, I was a little pissed off. My country had been attacked. I had just spent a week pulling people out of piles of wreckage. I was a captain at the time, with a high level of security clearance. I knew that we were going to need people, so I volunteered to go back in.

The 19 Greatest War Movies of All-Time

Read article

In an insane coincidence I received my orders on November 10, which happens to be the birthday of the Marine Corps. They had activated me and told me to report to Central Command in Tampa. I was given some time to prepare and say goodbye to the wife. I reported on November 17. By the time it was November 30, I was over in Afghanistan.

The 19 Greatest War Movies of All-Time

Read article

The 19 Greatest War Movies of All-Time

#TBT Many years ago in a far off land…Now I’m running #MyChicagoMarathon on behalf of @TeamSalute and the veterans it serves. Semper Fi! #hopemycalfmuscleholdsup #ChicagoMarathon @chimarathon A post shared by Rob Riggle (@robriggle) on Oct 6, 2016 at 10:49am PDT

#TBT Many years ago in a far off land…Now I’m running #MyChicagoMarathon on behalf of @TeamSalute and the veterans it serves. Semper Fi! #hopemycalfmuscleholdsup #ChicagoMarathon @chimarathon

A post shared by Rob Riggle (@robriggle) on Oct 6, 2016 at 10:49am PDT

On arrival I reported to Lieutenant Colonel Max Bowers, commanding officer of the 3rd Battalion, 5th Special Forces groups, who were operating out of Mazar-i-Sharif in northern Afghanistan. They were aligning with the Northern Alliance to fight the Taliban. They were the first guys in, fighting in some extraordinary circumstances. That is the story I get to tell now in 12 Strong, and not only that, I get to play my old boss Lieutenant Colonel Bowers. I get to play the man that I worked directly under, as part of his command element over there.

The Survivors: the Men Who Brought the Heroes Home

Read article

By the time I retired I had reached the rank of lieutenant colonel. In a lot of ways, it is crazy that I got to not only serve with these men, but also portray the operation in this movie. It is an honor to get to share their story.

The Survivors: the Men Who Brought the Heroes Home

Read article

The Survivors: the Men Who Brought the Heroes Home

— as told to Charles Thorp. 12 Strong, which also stars Men’s Journal cover guy Chris Hemsworth, is in theaters now.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!

More News

					Prepare for The Oscars With These Blu-Rays					



					How Matt Higgins Climbed and Conquered the Corporate Ladder					



					Best THC Detox Methods: 4 Best THC Detox Cleanse & Weed Detox Kits Of 2023					



					Your Pup Needs These Greenies Natural Dog Dental Treats					



					Model and Influencer Sixtine Rouyre Joins 2023 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition					



					Start Gaming With The PS5 God of War Ragnarök Bundle					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Prepare for The Oscars With These Blu-Rays					



					How Matt Higgins Climbed and Conquered the Corporate Ladder					



					Best THC Detox Methods: 4 Best THC Detox Cleanse & Weed Detox Kits Of 2023					



					Your Pup Needs These Greenies Natural Dog Dental Treats					



					Model and Influencer Sixtine Rouyre Joins 2023 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition					



					Start Gaming With The PS5 God of War Ragnarök Bundle					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More News

					Prepare for The Oscars With These Blu-Rays					



					How Matt Higgins Climbed and Conquered the Corporate Ladder					



					Best THC Detox Methods: 4 Best THC Detox Cleanse & Weed Detox Kits Of 2023					



					Your Pup Needs These Greenies Natural Dog Dental Treats					



					Model and Influencer Sixtine Rouyre Joins 2023 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition					



					Start Gaming With The PS5 God of War Ragnarök Bundle					


			All Stories			

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City							

More Videos

							The MJ5: Tony Hawk on His Favorite Gear, Why He Always Carries His Board, and More							





							Here's the Difference Between Bourbon and Whiskey							





							Young Guns and a Supercharged Catamaran: U.S. SailGP Team Takes on New York City